This is a documentation for Board Game Arena: play board games online !

Gamehelpcopenhagen: Difference between revisions

From Board Game Arena
Jump to navigation Jump to search
m (edited "Reactivate Ability Tile" section to indicate that all tiles can be flipped)
(Updates format from markdown to wiki (I think), as well as adding more info on special actions)
Line 1: Line 1:
## Goal
== Goal==
Be the first player to 12 points.
Be the first player to score 12 points (or, if no one has reached 12 points by the time the "End of Game" card is revealed, be the player with the most points).
Players score points in the following ways:
* Completing a horizontal row = +1 point
  * If all squares of the row have windows, score 1 additional point (for a total of +2 points).
* Completing a vertical column = +2 points
  * If all squares of the column have windows, score 2 additional points (for a total of +4 points).


## Player Turns
Players score points by completing complete lines on their board, and points are doubled if the line is composed entirely of window spaces. Specifically, points are scored in the following ways:
- Completing a horizontal row (or "floor") = +1 point
-- If all squares of the row have windows, score 1 additional point (for a total of +2 points).
- Completing a vertical column (or "section") = +2 points
-- If all squares of the column have windows, score 2 additional points (for a total of +4 points).
 
== Player Turn ==
On their turn, each player may do ONE of the following:
On their turn, each player may do ONE of the following:
** Draw cards
- Take cards
** Buy a building tile
- Construct facade
 
=== Taking Cards ===
If a player chooses to take cards, they take 1 card of the 7 available, as well as 1 more card immediately adjacent to the first (the row of available cards does NOT "wrap around", i.e., the last card in the roaw is  NOT adjacent to the first).
After drawing, the player must discard down to the hand limit, which is 7 cards.
 
=== Constructing Facade ===
When buying a tile, a player first discards a number of cards equal to the number of square building spaces on that tile, then they place the tile on a "supported" area of their player board.
- Supported areas are:
-- Any space on the bottom row of the player board
-- Any space immediately above an existing tile
- If a player's new tile is touching another tile of the same color on their board, the cost of the new tile is reduced by 1 card.
 
== Coats of Arms ==
Each player board has 7 Coat of Arms spaces printed on it: 4 on specific square spaces of the board, plus 3 more next to the highlighted rows (these Coats of Arms are printed outside the legal placement spaces of the building).  Activating these 2 types of Coat of Arms spaces differs in one key aspect:
- For Coat of Arms printed on building spaces, these are activated as soon as the space is covered by a facade.
- For those off to the side of a row, these are activated once all spaces of the highlighted row are covered by facades.
 
=== Activation Actions ===
As soon as a Coat of Arms is activated, the activating player takes ONE of the following three actions:
- Take and place a 1-square window facade SPECIAL TILE
- Take a NEW ABILITY TILE
- RE-ACTIVATE ALL ABILITY TILES that they have previously used
 
==== Take a Special Tile ====
If a player chooses to take a 1-square Special Tile, then they immediately place it on a supported building space of their board.
- This may be used to cover or complete the row of another Coat of Arms, creating a chain reaction
 
==== Take a New Ability Tile ====
If a player chooses to take a new Ability Tile, they MUST select an Ability Tile that they do not already have in front of them, either used or active.
- Once a player has acquired all 5 Ability Tiles, this option is no longer available to the player.
- Descriptions of all Ability Tiles can be found in the "Ability Tiles" section below.
 
==== Re-activate All Their Ability Tiles ====
Each time a player uses one of their Ability Tiles, they must flip the tile over to its inactive side. The only way to be able to use the ability again is to take the re-activate special action.
When a player re-activates their Ability Tiles, they flip ALL used Ability Tiles back to their active sides.
 
== Ability Tiles ==
Ability Tiles provide interesting ways for players to bend the rules of the game to their advantage throughout their turn.
- Players always start the game with one active Ability Tile, the "Any Cards" tile, but they may acquire more throughout the game by activating Coats of Arms.
- A player may use ANY NUMBER of their active Ability Tiles on their turn.
 
The 5 different Ability Tiles are:
 
=== Any Cards ===
Allows the player to take any 2 cards for their "Take Cards" action (i.e., the cards taken need not be adjacent to each other).
- This is the tile that each player starts the game with.
 
=== Additional Card ===
When using the "Take Cards" action, this tile allows a player to take a 3rd card FROM ANYWHERE in the card row (i.e., even if NOT used in conjunction with the "Any Cards" tile, the 3rd card need not be adjacent to either of the first 2 cards)


### Drawing Cards
=== Construction Discount ===
If player chose to draw cards, they take 1 card of the 7 available, as well as 1 more card immediately adjacent to the first (the row of available cards does NOT "wrap around", i.e., the last card in the roaw is NOT adjacent to the first).
When taking the "Construct Facade" action, the player may pay 1 fewer card than they otherwise would have had to pay for the facade tile.
After drawing, player must discard down to the hand limit, which is 7 cards.
- If this tile is used to lower the cost of  a facade tile that will be placed adjacent to another facade of its own color, the two discounts DO "stack" (i.e., the final cost is 2 fewer cards than it otherwise would have been).


### Buying a Building Tile
=== Change of Colors ===
When buying a tile, a player first discards a number of cards equal to the number of square building sections on that tile, then they place the tile on a "supported" area of their player board.
When taking the "Construct Facade" action, a player may treat ALL CARDS of a certain color as if they were any other color.
* Supported areas are:
- This means that a player may add cards of two different colors together to act as all cards of one color or the other.
  * Any space on the bottom row of the player board
- Alternatively, a player may use cards of just one color, but may treat that one color as if it were "wild".
  * Any space immediately above an existing tile
* If a player's new tile is touching another tile of the same color on their board, the cost of the new tile is reduced by 1 card.
* Only one tile may be purchased in a turn.


## Coats of Arms
=== Both Actions ===
*Each player board has 7 Coat of Arms spaces printed on it.
On their turn, a player may use this tile to take BOTH the "Take Cards" and the "Construct Facade" actions before play passes to the next player.
*If a placed tile covers a Coat of Arms or completes a row with a Coat of Arms at the right end, the player may take one of three Special Actions for each.
- When using this tile, the "Take Cards" action MUST ALWAYS be taken first, followed by the "Construct Facade" action.
*Actions:
- If a player draws above their hand limit (7 cards), they must discard down to 7 cards BEFORE taking the "Construct Facade" action.
** Special Tiles - take and place a 1-square special tile
** Ability Tile - take another ability tile (only one of each type allowed)
** Reactivate Ability Tile - turn all used ability tiles face up, so they may be used again
* NOTE: if placing a Special Tile covers a Coat of Arms or completes a Coat of Arms row, immediately take an additional Special Action.

Revision as of 19:10, 29 April 2022

Goal

Be the first player to score 12 points (or, if no one has reached 12 points by the time the "End of Game" card is revealed, be the player with the most points).

Players score points by completing complete lines on their board, and points are doubled if the line is composed entirely of window spaces. Specifically, points are scored in the following ways: - Completing a horizontal row (or "floor") = +1 point -- If all squares of the row have windows, score 1 additional point (for a total of +2 points). - Completing a vertical column (or "section") = +2 points -- If all squares of the column have windows, score 2 additional points (for a total of +4 points).

Player Turn

On their turn, each player may do ONE of the following: - Take cards - Construct facade

Taking Cards

If a player chooses to take cards, they take 1 card of the 7 available, as well as 1 more card immediately adjacent to the first (the row of available cards does NOT "wrap around", i.e., the last card in the roaw is NOT adjacent to the first). After drawing, the player must discard down to the hand limit, which is 7 cards.

Constructing Facade

When buying a tile, a player first discards a number of cards equal to the number of square building spaces on that tile, then they place the tile on a "supported" area of their player board. - Supported areas are: -- Any space on the bottom row of the player board -- Any space immediately above an existing tile - If a player's new tile is touching another tile of the same color on their board, the cost of the new tile is reduced by 1 card.

Coats of Arms

Each player board has 7 Coat of Arms spaces printed on it: 4 on specific square spaces of the board, plus 3 more next to the highlighted rows (these Coats of Arms are printed outside the legal placement spaces of the building). Activating these 2 types of Coat of Arms spaces differs in one key aspect: - For Coat of Arms printed on building spaces, these are activated as soon as the space is covered by a facade. - For those off to the side of a row, these are activated once all spaces of the highlighted row are covered by facades.

Activation Actions

As soon as a Coat of Arms is activated, the activating player takes ONE of the following three actions: - Take and place a 1-square window facade SPECIAL TILE - Take a NEW ABILITY TILE - RE-ACTIVATE ALL ABILITY TILES that they have previously used

Take a Special Tile

If a player chooses to take a 1-square Special Tile, then they immediately place it on a supported building space of their board. - This may be used to cover or complete the row of another Coat of Arms, creating a chain reaction

Take a New Ability Tile

If a player chooses to take a new Ability Tile, they MUST select an Ability Tile that they do not already have in front of them, either used or active. - Once a player has acquired all 5 Ability Tiles, this option is no longer available to the player. - Descriptions of all Ability Tiles can be found in the "Ability Tiles" section below.

Re-activate All Their Ability Tiles

Each time a player uses one of their Ability Tiles, they must flip the tile over to its inactive side. The only way to be able to use the ability again is to take the re-activate special action. When a player re-activates their Ability Tiles, they flip ALL used Ability Tiles back to their active sides.

Ability Tiles

Ability Tiles provide interesting ways for players to bend the rules of the game to their advantage throughout their turn. - Players always start the game with one active Ability Tile, the "Any Cards" tile, but they may acquire more throughout the game by activating Coats of Arms. - A player may use ANY NUMBER of their active Ability Tiles on their turn.

The 5 different Ability Tiles are:

Any Cards

Allows the player to take any 2 cards for their "Take Cards" action (i.e., the cards taken need not be adjacent to each other). - This is the tile that each player starts the game with.

Additional Card

When using the "Take Cards" action, this tile allows a player to take a 3rd card FROM ANYWHERE in the card row (i.e., even if NOT used in conjunction with the "Any Cards" tile, the 3rd card need not be adjacent to either of the first 2 cards)

Construction Discount

When taking the "Construct Facade" action, the player may pay 1 fewer card than they otherwise would have had to pay for the facade tile. - If this tile is used to lower the cost of a facade tile that will be placed adjacent to another facade of its own color, the two discounts DO "stack" (i.e., the final cost is 2 fewer cards than it otherwise would have been).

Change of Colors

When taking the "Construct Facade" action, a player may treat ALL CARDS of a certain color as if they were any other color. - This means that a player may add cards of two different colors together to act as all cards of one color or the other. - Alternatively, a player may use cards of just one color, but may treat that one color as if it were "wild".

Both Actions

On their turn, a player may use this tile to take BOTH the "Take Cards" and the "Construct Facade" actions before play passes to the next player. - When using this tile, the "Take Cards" action MUST ALWAYS be taken first, followed by the "Construct Facade" action. - If a player draws above their hand limit (7 cards), they must discard down to 7 cards BEFORE taking the "Construct Facade" action.